Dean's Office Directory

Name Position Area Contact
Ninan Abraham Associate Dean, Equity and Diversity
Responsible for our Faculty’s equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) initiatives, including the training of faculty search committees, meeting with faculty candidates, faculty data analysis, generation of Faculty equity and diversity progress reports, and liaising with the UBC Equity and Inclusion office and other EDI leaders.
Faculty + Equity nabraham@science.ubc.ca
604-822-4213
Susan Allen Associate Dean, Faculty
Responsible for the Faculty’s promotion and tenure reviews, faculty retention efforts, facilitating dual career positions and peer evaluation of teaching initiatives.
Faculty + Equity sallen@science.ubc.ca
6004-822-4213
Meigan Aronson Dean
Administration + IT scidean@science.ubc.ca
Lucia Balabuk Science Gateway Admin Support
Provides administrative support and coordination to the Science Gateway educational programs including Science One.
Curriculum, Education + Programs science1@mail.ubc.ca
604 822-5552
Tom Balke Associate Director, Development
Leads fundraising efforts for MDRU, EOAS and strategic priorities currently including BRIMM (Bradshaw Initiative for Minerals and Mining) and Michael Smith Labs.
Development + Alumni tom.balke@science.ubc.ca
604-827-4464
Chris Balma Director, Communications
Responsible for the development and execution of the Faculty's strategic communication program, the delivery of targeted messaging across electronic, print and social media.
Communications balma@science.ubc.ca
604-822-5082
Fiona Beaty Associate Director, Development
Leads fundraising efforts for the Departments of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics & Astronomy and the Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Development + Alumni fiona.beaty@ubc.ca
604-827-4406
Allan Berezny Assistant Dean, Development
Leads the Science Development team of 8 in the engagement of our alumni and community donors to invest in research, students and projects in the Faculty of Science.
Development + Alumni allan.berezny@ubc.ca
604-822-8686 or 604-318-3810
Gulnur Birol Director, Skylight (Science Centre for Learning and Teaching)
Leads the Skylight group: responsible for providing strategic leadership and vision in planning and delivery of faculty-wide teaching and learning initiatives.
Curriculum, Education + Programs birol@science.ubc.ca
604-827-3414
Kate Blackburn Administrative Assistant to ADs for Faculty, Research, and Equity and Diversity
Main receptionist. Provides admin and secretarial support to ADs. Coordinates Science Postdoc Travel Awards and the External Reviews for the Science Departments. Office coordinator for equipment and supplies.
Administration + IT, Research + Innovation, Faculty + Equity kate.blackburn@ubc.ca
603 822-3336
Barbara Borges de Macedo Dean’s Administrative Assistant
Coordinates the Dean’s schedule, travel, requests for appointments and events.
Administration + IT scideanasst@science.ubc.ca
604-827-2406
Erika Borys Skylight Administrative Coordinator
Generates all administration and communication materials for the extended Skylight team across the Faculty.
Administration + IT, Curriculum, Education + Programs borys@science.ubc.ca
604-822-9846
Wendy Brett Academic Advisor
Responsible for academic advising services to students in the Faculty of Science and Vantage College, including academic advising, evaluations for promotion and progression and student programming in order to support the academic success, personal development and retention of domestic and international students.
Students + Advising Wendy.brett@ubc.ca
604-827-5031 and 604-827-2605
Ian Cavers Associate Dean, Students
Responsible for Science Student Academic Services including advising, student engagement programming, enriched learning, graduation, enrollment management, academic integrity, and Science Co-op. Also sponsor of the Integrated Renewal Project.
Students + Advising cavers@science.ubc.ca
604-822-4214
Kim Chan Academic Advisor
Responsible for academic advising services, including academic advising, evaluations for promotion and progression and student programming in order to support the academic success, personal development and retention of domestic and international students.
Students + Advising kchan@science.ubc.ca
604-822-3813
Ada Christopher Assistant Director, Academic Support
Responsible for overseeing the student undergraduate academic support services delivered by the Academic Advising team pertaining to academic progression and retention in the Faculty of Science.
Students + Advising ada.christopher@science.ubc.ca
604-827-2102
Rosalia Ciulla Development Coordinator
Provides support to the fundraising team; executes donor reports, provides event logistics and supports the donor stewardship program. Works with central Development office on campus-wide fundraising initiatives
Development + Alumni rosalia.ciulla@ubc.ca
604-827-4466
Warren Code Associate Director, Skylight
Providing leadership and management of special teaching and learning initiatives in the Faculty of Science and the Science Centre for Teaching and Learning (Skylight), including the Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative (CWSEI). Co-supervises the Science Education Specialists
Curriculum, Education + Programs warcode@science.ubc.ca
604-822-4691
Erica Commons Student Engagement Officer
Responsible for the design and delivery of programs and services intended to facilitate a culture of learning, leadership, involvement, and service for undergraduate students in the Faculty of Science.
Students + Advising erica.commons@science.ubc.ca
604-827-2006
Nancy Cook Academic Project Manager
Leads special projects for Academic portfolio: manages course teaching evaluation process and curriculum development and change processes; year 2 specializations, administers Science Outreach programs including Science 101.
Curriculum, Education + Programs cook@science.ubc.ca
604-822-9012

Pages