Dean's Office Directory


Notifications

Name Position Area Contact
Ninan Abraham Associate Dean, Equity and Diversity
Responsible for our Faculty’s equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) initiatives, including the training of faculty search committees, meeting with faculty candidates, faculty data analysis, generation of Faculty equity and diversity progress reports, and liaising with the UBC Equity and Inclusion office and other EDI leaders.
Faculty + Equity nabraham@science.ubc.ca
604-822-4213
Susan Allen Associate Dean, Faculty
Responsible for the Faculty’s promotion and tenure reviews, faculty retention efforts, facilitating dual career positions and peer evaluation of teaching initiatives.
Faculty + Equity sallen@science.ubc.ca
6004-822-4213
Meigan Aronson Dean
Administration + IT scidean@science.ubc.ca
Lucia Balabuk Science Gateway Admin Support
Provides administrative support and coordination to the Science Gateway educational programs including Science One.
Curriculum, Education + Programs science1@mail.ubc.ca
604 822-5552
Tom Balke - on leave Associate Director, Development Strategic Initatives
Leads fundraising efforts for MDRU, EOAS and strategic priorities currently including BRIMM (Bradshaw Initiative for Minerals and Mining) and Michael Smith Labs.
Development + Alumni tom.balke@science.ubc.ca
604-827-4464
Chris Balma Director, Communications
Responsible for the development and execution of the Faculty's strategic communication program, the delivery of targeted messaging across electronic, print and social media.
Communications balma@science.ubc.ca
604-822-5082
Fiona Beaty Associate Director, Development
Leads fundraising efforts for the Departments of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics & Astronomy and the Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries
Development + Alumni fiona.beaty@ubc.ca
604-827-4406
Aven Bendickson Senior Manager, HR Services
This position focuses on improving the experiences for Departments in navigating UBC's HR processes and HR systems such as Workday. The intent is to reduce the administrative burden on our faculty and staff using these systems, and to bolster the amount of support and guidance we are able to provide our Departments in conducting their HR activities in areas of best practices, improved processes, problem resolution and ongoing training.
Human Resources aven.bendickson@science.ubc.ca
604-822-0105
Allan Berezny Assistant Dean, Development and Alumni Engagement
Leads the Science development and alumni engagement team of 8 in the engagement of our alumni and community donors to invest in research, students and projects in the Faculty of Science.
Development + Alumni allan.berezny@ubc.ca
604-822-8686 or 604-318-3810
Gulnur Birol Director, Skylight (Science Centre for Learning and Teaching)
Leads the Skylight group: responsible for providing strategic leadership and vision in planning and delivery of faculty-wide teaching and learning initiatives.
Curriculum, Education + Programs birol@science.ubc.ca
604-827-3414
Kate Blackburn Administrative Assistant to ADs for Faculty, Research, and Equity and Diversity
Main receptionist. Provides admin and scheduling support to ADs; Coordinates annual processes including the Science Postdoc Travel Awards, External Reviews for the Science Depts, Science Fair; coordinates TA teaching evaluation process; faculty recruitment process for candidate visits to the Dean’s office
Administration + IT, Research + Innovation, Faculty + Equity kate.blackburn@ubc.ca
603 822-3336
Barbara Borges de Macedo - on leave Dean’s Administrative Assistant
Coordinates the Dean’s schedule, travel, requests for appointments and events.
Administration + IT scideanasst@science.ubc.ca
604-827-2406
Kim Chan Academic Advisor
Responsible for academic advising services, including academic advising, evaluations for promotion and progression and student programming in order to support the academic success, personal development and retention of domestic and international students.
Students + Advising kchan@science.ubc.ca
604-822-3813
James Charbonneau Associate Dean, Students
Responsible for Science Student Academic Services including advising, student engagement programming, enriched learning, graduation, enrollment management, academic integrity, and Science Co-op.
Students + Advising charbonneau@science.ubc.ca
Sarah Chen Web and Digital Communications Specialist
Responsible for content development, information architecture, and UI structure across UBC Science digital media assets, particularly websites, but also including email marketing and social channels.
Communications chen@science.ubc.ca
Ada Christopher Associate Director, Academic Support
Responsible for overseeing the student undergraduate academic support services delivered by the Academic Advising team pertaining to academic progression and retention in the Faculty of Science.
Students + Advising ada.christopher@science.ubc.ca
604-827-2102
Warren Code Associate Director, Skylight
Providing leadership and management of special teaching and learning initiatives in the Faculty of Science and the Science Centre for Teaching and Learning (Skylight), including the Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative (CWSEI). Co-supervises the Science Education Specialists
Curriculum, Education + Programs warcode@science.ubc.ca
604-822-4691
Nancy Cook Academic Project Manager
Leads special projects for Academic portfolio: manages course teaching evaluation process and curriculum development and change processes; year 2 specializations, administers Science Outreach programs including Science 101.
Curriculum, Education + Programs cook@science.ubc.ca
604-822-9012
Laura De Vincenzi Student Information Support Supervisor
Supervises and oversees administration of the student-facing front line service points in the Science Advising Centre which provides front line service and information to current and prospective students, departments and the general public regarding admission, course planning, student records and registration.
Students + Advising devincenzi@science.ubc.ca
604-822-0135
Sarah Doran Coelho Associate Director, Development
Leads fundraising efforts for the UBC Botanical Garden and the Beaty Biodiversity Museum as well as the departments of Botany and Zoology
Development + Alumni sarah.dorancoelho@ubc.ca
604-827-3536

Pages