UBC Neutrino Researcher Awarded One of Five Canadian Sloan Fellowships

Scott M. Oser, Assistant Prof. in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and Canada Research Chair in Solar Neutrinos, has been awarded a 2008 Sloan Research Fellowship. The prestigious award (35 Sloan fellows have become Nobel Laureates) is intended to enhance the careers of outstanding young faculty members in the sciences.

Oser--whose primary research is in the field of neutrino oscillations--works on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory, which has provided revolutionary insight into the properties of neutrinos and the core of the sun. He is this year's only UBC recipient, and joins Canadian fellowship winners at McMaster, the University of Ottawa, the University of Toronto and Waterloo.