Canada Research Chairs at UBC Science


The Faculty of Science is home to more than 50 Canada Research Chairs. The world’s most accomplished and promising minds receive these prestigious appointments to take their research to a higher level.
  • Russ Algar, Biochemical Sensing
  • Amy Angert, Conservation Ecology
  • Marie Auger-Méthé, Statistical Ecology
  • Aaron Boley, Planetary Astronomy
  • Sabin Cautis, Algebraic Geometry
  • Kai Chan, Re-Wilding and Social-Ecological Transformation
  • William Cheung, Ocean Sustainability and Global Change
  • Gabriela Cohen Freue, Statistical Genomics
  • Sean Crowe, Geomicrobiology
  • Andrea Damascelli, Electronic Structure of Quantum Materials
  • Hadi Dowlatabadi, Integrated-Assessment Modelling and Global Change
  • Lindsay Eltis, Microbial Catabolism and Biocatalysis
  • Cara Haney, Plant Microbiome Interactions
  • Nicholas Harvey, Algorithm Design
  • Charles Haynes, Surface Biotechnology
  • Gary Hinshaw, Observational Cosmology
  • Zachary Hudson, Sustainable Chemistry
  • Mark Johnson, Ecohydrology
  • Patrick Keeling, Microbial Diversity and Evolution
  • Alison Lister, Particle Physics
  • Mark MacLachlan, Supramolecular Materials
  • Karon MacLean, Interactive Human Systems Design
  • Wayne Maddison, Biodiversity and Systematics
  • Jessica McIver, Gravitational Wave Astrophysics
  • Kota Mizumoto, Developmental Genetics
  • Mathav Murugan, Probability
  • Raymond Ng, Data Science and Analytics
  • Sarah Otto, Theoretical and Experimental Evolution
  • Matthew Pennell, Biodiversity Theory and Informatics
  • Yaniv Plan, Datascience
  • Sujatha Ramdorai, Mathematics
  • Abel Rosado, Plant Cellular Dynamics
  • Laurel Schafer, Catalyst Development
  • Mark Schmidt, Canada Research Chair Machine Learning
  • Leonid Sigal, Computer Vision and Machine Learning
  • Matthijs Smit, Applied Geochemistry of the Lithosphere
  • Rashid Sumaila, Interdisciplinary Ocean and Fisheries Economics
  • Geoffrey Wasteneys, Plant Cell Biology
  • Stephanie Waterman, Ocean Turbulence
  • Laura Wegener Parfrey, Aquatic  Microbial Protist Ecology
  • Juncheng Wei, Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations, Concentration Phenomena and Applications
  • Dominique Weis, Geochemistry of the Earth’s Mantle
  • Ziliang Ye, Optical Control of Quantum Materials

Recent Disciplinary Distinctions

2020 Volvo Environment Prize
Claire Kremen

2018 Carlyle S Beals Award
Mark Halpern

2018 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics
Gary Hinshaw

Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology
Bill Mohn

2017 John G FitzGerald Award, Canadian Association for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
Bob Hancock

Fellow, American Mathematical Society
Jim Bryan

President's Prize, Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
Susan Allen

Foreign Associate of the French Academy of Science
Ian Affleck

2016 Varnes Medal, International Consortium on Landslides
Oldrich Hungr

2016 Chemical Institute of Canada Medal
Steve Withers

Parsons Medal for Excellence in Ocean Science
Christopher Harley

Sewall Wright Award, American Society of Naturalists
Sarah Otto

Peter Benchley Ocean Award
Daniel Pauly

Outstanding Paper Award, NA Manufacturing Research Conference
Alla Sheffer

John Patterson Medal, Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
William Hsieh

Centre de recherches mathématiques-SSC Prize
Matías Salibián-Barrera

Prix Jacques Tacussel, International Society of Electrochemistry
Dan Bizzotto

Guggenheim Fellowship
Michael Doebeli

Norman R Farnsworth Award, American Society of Pharmacognosy
Raymond Andersen

Clara Benson Award, Canadian Society for Chemistry
Laurel Schafer

Jeffery-Williams Prize, Canadian Mathematical Society
Alejandro Adem

3M National Teaching Fellowship
Sara Harris

Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers
Parisa Mehrkhodavandi

Adrien Pouliot Award, Canadian Mathematical Society
Mark MacLean

Fellows, American Physical Society
Philip Stamp, Marcel Franz, Andrea Damascelli

Coxeter-James Prize, Canadian Mathematical Society
Dong Li

Billings Medal, Geological Association of Canada
Paul Smith