UBC Science nabs nine Faculty Research Awards

The 2012 recipients of UBC’s Faculty Research Awards have been revealed. In total, nine UBC Science researchers are being recognized for their work.

The Faculty Research Awards are presented by the Office of the Vice President Research & International, and include Killam Research fellowships and prizes, the Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research, and the Jacob Biely Prize, the most prestigious research prize the University offers.

This year’s Internal Research Awards Reception will be held on March 25. Winner profiles can be found by visiting:

Jacob Biely Research Prize
Gordon Semenoff, Physics & Astronomy

Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research
Nando de Freitas, Computer Science

UBC Killam Faculty Research Fellowship
 Junior Category:
Cristina Conati, Computer Science
Kirk Madison, Physics & Astronomy
Joerg Rottler, Physics & Astronomy

Senior Category:
Jiahua Chen, Statistics
Roger Francois, Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences

UBC Killam Faculty Research Prizes Science, Applied Science, Forestry Subcommittee
 Senior Category:
Dinesh Pai, Computer Science
Curtis Suttle, Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences

The Charles A. McDowell Award is presented to an outstanding young faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in pure or applied scientific research.

Geoff Gilliard