UBC mathematicians win national awards, appointed U.S. SIAM fellows

Four UBC mathematicians have been recognized for their research contributions with awards and fellowships.

Dong Li, a UBC researcher with a focus on fluid dynamics, mathematical biology and mathematical physics, is the winner of the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) 2015 Coxeter-James prize. The national award recognizes excellence in research by a young mathematician.

“Emerging young mathematicians are essential for the future of mathematics in Canada,” said CMS president Lia Bronsard, “Dong’s research is impressive and his results are influential within the mathematical community.”

Alejandro Adem, one of the world’s leading experts in group cohomology and the geometry of group actions, was named the recipient of the 2015 CMS Jeffery-Williams Prize. The prize recognizes mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research.

Two other mathematicians were recognized by the American-based Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics: Fred Brauer and Rachel A. Kuske have joined the Society’s new cohort of fellows. The fellowships recognize outstanding contributions to the fields of applied mathematics and computational science.

Bauer’s main research focus is the mathematical modelling of epidemiological problems and population systems. Kuske’s research interests are in the area of stochastic and nonlinear dynamics, mathematical modelling, asymptotics and semianalytic approximations, and mathematics in industry.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia