Oceanographer wins top UBC award for young researchers

Dr. Stephanie Waterman

UBC sea-going oceanographer Dr. Stephanie Waterman has been awarded the university’s Charles A. McDowell award for excellence in pure or applied scientific research by a young faculty member.

Dr. Waterman’s research explores large-scale circulation and the ocean's role in the climate system and the inter-relationships between various components of the oceanic circulations. Her main aim is to observe real-world systems, identify the important physical processes generating individual phenomena, and reduce their complexity to a useful model. She holds a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Ocean Turbulence, and is an assistant professor in Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences.

Six other UBC Science faculty members in Chemistry, Michael Smith Laboratories, Physics and Astronomy, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, Botany and Computer Science also received UBC Faculty Research Awards.

UBC Killam Accelerator Research Fellowships

  • Russ Algar (Chemistry)
  • Sabrina Leslie (Michael Smith Laboratories, Physics and Astronomy)

UBC Killam Research Fellowships

  • Jonathan Davies (Botany)

UBC Killam Research Prizes

Senior Category

  • Catherine Johnson (Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences)
  • Raymond Ng (Computer Science)

Junior Category

  • Mark Schmidt (Computer Science)

The award winners were selected by UBC’s Faculty Research Award Committee, which spans arts and humanities, applied science, science, and medicine. 


Geoff Gilliard