Killam Teaching Award for Science instructors

COVID-19 and UBC's response

Learn more about UBC's COVID-19 response and campus return plan. Stay up-to-date with UBC Science's plans.

UBC Science awards Killam Teaching Prizes each academic year to acknowledge outstanding contributions made by teaching faculty in Science. Nominations may be made by students, alumni or faculty.

Students and Alumni: Nominate an outstanding science teacher online

Faculty members can nominate an outstanding colleague online

Your nomination must include reasons why you are nominating this candidate, and one or more examples of her/his excellent teaching in practice.

Nomination Deadlines

Nominations are accepted at any time, but submissions after the deadlines will be considered in the following year.

May 15, 2021


Among the criteria taken into consideration will be the ability to motivate students and stimulate critical thinking, sustained teaching excellence and development of innovative approaches to teaching methodology and curricula.


UBC Science undergraduate faculty members, including lecturers and sessional lecturers, appointed for a minimum of three years in any of the Faculty's departments and units are eligible to be nominated for the prizes. Award winners within the last three years may not be nominated (see recent winners below).

Faculty of Science departments and units are: Botany; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences (EOAS); Mathematics; Microbiology and Immunology; Physics and Astronomy; Statistics; Zoology; Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries; Michael Smith Laboratories (MSL) and the Institute for Resources and Sustainability (IRES).

Selection Process

The prizes will be awarded on recommendation of a committee of faculty and students appointed by the Dean of Science. Members of the committee will attend nominees' teaching sessions and interview nominees' students as well as review all supporting documentation.

Recent Winners


  • Cinda Heeren, Computer Science, Faculty of Science
  • Erin Lindenberg, Chemistry, Faculty of Science
  • Eugenia Yu, Statistics, Faculty of Science
  • Pamela Kalas, Botany, Faculty of Science
  • Stephen Gustafson, Mathematics, Faculty of Science


  • Elisa Banaissad, Computer Science
  • Marcia Graves, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Valery Milner, Physics and Astronomy
  • David Ng, Advanced Molecular Biology Laboratories
  • Marcello Pavan, Physics and Astronomy


  • Aaron Boley, Physics and Astronomy
  • Kayli Johnson, Chemistry
  • Priya Anka Lekhi, Chemistry
  • José Rodríguez Núñez, Chemistry
  • James Scoates, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences


  • Jessica Dawson, Computer Science
  • Brett Gilley, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Roman Krems, Chemistry
  • David Oliver, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Gordon Slade, Mathematics


  • Simon Bates, Physics and Astronomy
  • James Charbonneau, Physics and Astronomy
  • Angie O’Neill, Zoology
  • Karen Smith, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Jay Wickenden, Chemistry


  • Gregor Kiczales, Computer Science
  • Mark Jellinek, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Mona Berciu, Physics and Astronomy
  • Roland Stull, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences


  • Chris Addison
  • Paul Carter
  • Brian Leander
  • Kevin Leyton-Brown


  • Joanne Fox
  • Dragos Ghioca
  • Steven Hallam
  • Glenn Sammis


  • Gregory Dake
  • Javed Iqbal
  • Celeste Leander
  • Fok-Shuen Leung
  • Mark Van Raamsdonk


  • Sunita Chowrira
  • Sara Harris
  • George Haughn
  • Malabika Pramanik
  • Santokh Singh


  • Kathy Nomme
  • Angie O’Neill
  • Jackie Stewart
  • Douw Steyn
  • Kimberly Voll


  • Philip Loewen, Mathematics
  • Jennifer Love, Chemistry
  • Andrew Rechnitzer, Mathematics
  • Lacey Samuels, Botany
  • Anthony Sinclair, Zoology


  • Greg Bole, Zoology
  • Ed Knorr, Computer Science
  • Agnes Lacombe, Zoology
  • Mark MacLachlan, Chemistry
  • Stephanie van Willigenburg, Mathematics


  • Mona Berciu, Physics and Astronomy
  • Joel Feldman, Mathematics
  • Michael Gold, Microbiology and Immunology
  • Greg Martin, Mathematics
  • Steven Wolfman, Computer Science


  • Shona Ellis, Botany
  • Jaclyn Stewart, Chemistry
  • Stuart Sutherland, Earth and Ocean Sciences


  • Paul Carter, Computer Science
  • Janis McKenna, Physics and Astronomy
  • Mark MacLean, Science One Program


  • Geoffrey Herring, Chemistry
  • Jennifer Klenz, Zoology
  • Michael Ward, Mathematics


  • James Berger, Zoology
  • Michael Feeley, Computer Science
  • Andre Marziali, Physics and Astronomy


  • Mary Berbee, Botany
  • Hugh Brock, Zoology
  • Lee Groat, Earth and Ocean Sciences


  • Thomas Carefoot, Zoology
  • Shona Ellis, Botany
  • Kurt Grimm, Earth and Ocean Sciences


  • Geoff Herring
  • Philip Loewen
  • Serguei Novocelskii


  • Ian Cavers
  • Jaymie Matthews
  • Lee Gass


  • Carol Ann Borden
  • Chris Orvig
  • Chris Waltham


  • Brian Cliff
  • Paul LeBlond
  • Craig Boutilier


  • David Austin
  • Michael Gerry
  • George Spiegelman


  • James Carolan
  • Jean Meloche
  • Dana Zendrowski


  • Murray Goldberg
  • Paul L. Smith
  • Matthew J. Yedlin


  • Barbara Dill
  • Charles Swanson
  • Lawrence Weiler


  • Anthony Merer
  • John Coury
  • Wilfred Schofield


  • J. Malcolm McMillan
  • Francis Tufaro
  • Nicholas Burlinson
  • Wilfred Schofield


  • Julyet Benbasat
  • Thomas Pedersen
  • Wayne Savigny